Bacchus Venus 5

Bacchus Venus 5

Year: 2002

Made In: Japan

Specs: Ash body, maple neck, rosewood fretboard

Electronics: 2 x Bacchus single coil pickups

Controls: Volume, blend, bass cut & boost, treble cut & boost

I bought this with the intention of defretting it, that lovely slab of rosewood just called out to me. However, when it arrived, the fretwork was so good I just couldn’t butcher it. This thing sang, it absolutely had the tone, the looks, the playability and more. In fact, it had everything except a forearm contour which, I discovered, is pretty much a deal breaker with the way I played bass. I did toy with the idea of having a forearm contour put in and the top refinished, but to maim this bass in any way would have been a travesty. This really was as nice as it gets, but the slab top and I just couldn’t get along. In the end, I eased it on out the door in exchange for a 3-band Stingray.

Leave a Reply

