Gibson Flying V

Gibson Flying V

Year: 1990

Made In: USA

Specs: Mahogany body, mahogany neck, rosewood fretboard

Electronics: Seymour Duncan JB & 59 pickups

Controls: Volume x 2, tone & 3-way switch

Lured by the presence of the Kahler vibrato, I brought this one in from the US. This was actually my first V. It needed some work, it was in pretty poor shape when it arrived. I ended up replacing the stock pickups and mutilated wiring and, after a fret level and dress, this was a pretty good player and sounded rather nice indeed. It was a lot better guitar than the next Gibson V I would have years later. Despite this, the band I was in at the time I was tuning lower and lower and I needed something longer than the 24.75″ scale so I eased it on out the door to release some funds.

One thought on “Gibson Flying V

Leave a Reply

